Reed Phillips Has Been Awarded the Foreign Policy Association Medal

Reed Phillips, CEO and Managing Partner of Oaklins DeSilva+Phillips and Chairman of Oaklins International, was awarded the Foreign Policy Association Medal on June 24th at the association’s annual dinner, which was held virtually. The Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the Foreign Policy Association and is in recognition of individuals who demonstrate responsible internationalism and work to expand public knowledge of international affairs. Past recipients include the Honorable Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of New York City; Jean-Claude Trichet, President of the European Central Bank; Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia; and, Anne-Marie Slaughter, Dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University, among others.

The Foreign Policy Association (“FPA”) is based in New York City and was founded in 1918 to serve as a catalyst for developing awareness, understanding, and informed opinion on U.S. foreign policy and global issues.

Reed was recognized for his role as Chairman of Oaklins International. As Chairman, he oversees a global organization with 850 investment bankers in 45 countries. Oaklins has completed $75 billion in transactions, including 933 in the technology, media, and telecommunications (“TMT”) sectors. Reed was introduced by the founder of Oaklins International, Maarten Wolleswinkel, who joined the Zoom call from Amsterdam.

In his remarks, Reed said, “Investment banking is a pragmatic business. It’s about delivering the best economic outcome to clients. Foreign policy is more nuanced and requires idealism. For the past 10 years, I have had the good fortune to serve on the board of the FPA, where our aim is to make Americans aware of the global issues that shape our foreign policy. Every day, we are focused on making the world a smaller place that is more interconnected and hospitable. I am proud of the work of the FPA. Thanks for allowing me to be along for the ride.”

The other honorees on June 24th were Marianne Harrison, President and CEO of John Hancock; Christopher J. Nassetta, President and CEO of Hilton; and, Michael J. Dowling, President and CEO of Northwell Health.